1. Home
  2. Getting Started
  3. Share your mind map
  1. Home
  2. Integrations
  3. Share your mind map
  1. Home
  2. Teams Guide
  3. Share your mind map

Share your mind map

You can easily share work you’ve done in Mind Doodle with co-workers, clients, stakeholders and friends.

There are a few options to choose from, meaning you select whichever feels like the right fit for the audience you’re sharing it with.

The options are:

  • Set your Doodle as public
  • Invite team members to collaborate
  • Export the Doodle to MS Word, PowerPoint or Project
  • Save the mind map as an image (PNG file) to share

Public Doodle

If you are not working with confidential information, you might want to share your mind map with the world by making your mind map public.

It doesn’t matter whether you intentionally created your mind map as public content, or decided you wanted to share your project after completing it. You can update whether a Doodle is set to public or private with a couple of clicks.

Why choose a public Doodle?

  • Dynamic storytelling
  • Shareable content
  • Lasting digital resource

What sort of content suits a public Doodle?

  • Brand marketing
  • Creative portfolios
  • Revision and visual essays
  • Wikis and help guides

Set your Doodle as public

It’s very simple to make your Doodle public as a quick way to share it with colleagues, clients, contacts and friends.

Start by mind mapping as usual, then either:

  1. Click the save icon
  2. Click on the name of your Doodle
Screenshot demonstrates the save icon and name of Doodle

You will be shown a pop-up window with an option to ‘Make this Doodle public’. Select the check-box to make the Doodle public and click save to confirm.

Screenshot highlighting where to click to set a Doodle as public
Please note

When your Doodle is public, anyone with the URL can see your Doodle without being required to sign into Mind Doodle.

Invite team members

Inviting team members is another great way to share your Doodle. This option is best if you want to encourage input or comments from another person. Learn more about how to create and manage teams.

Open your Doodle and click on the ‘Manage Users’ icon, resembling a person with a plus sign next to it, located at the top of the screen.

Screenshot highlighting the manage users icon

To invite someone new, enter the person’s name and email address and click ‘Invite’.

Screenshot demonstrating the area to invite a friend or colleague to collaborate

You can determine the level of access you want to give this person by dragging their name into the Commentator, Contributor or Editor column.

Screenshot demonstrating three users with different roles in a Doodle, meaning they have different editing rights

By specifying their privileges, you retain full control of whether they can comment on, contribute to or have full edit rights of your Doodle.

Info

Assign your team member a role for each Doodle, choosing between Commentator, Contributor or Editor.

User roles

Here’s a quick guide to help you decide which role is best:

Commentator

As the name suggests, Commentators can comment on mind maps, but they do not have access to add ideas, delete ideas or edit the content of the mind map in any way. That includes changing colors or rearranging ideas around the Doodle.

A Commentator can join conversations in live chat, which includes threads in any of the ideas in your Doodle. They can upload images and videos into the chat box too, to help explain their points during discussions.

The commentator role is appropriate for an individual who you’d like to review your Doodle, or discuss certain ideas with, but doesn’t require access to add to ideas or develop the mind map.

Contributor

A Contributor can contribute to a Doodle, adding and editing their own ideas, but cannot edit other people’s ideas.

This is an effective role for encouraging collaboration whilst ensuring that nobody accidentally deletes ideas or important information within the Doodle.

The Contributor role works particularly well for Doodles with a large number of users who are mind mapping together, for example at a conference or workshop.

Editor

The Editor role provides the most freedom for the majority of users who are working in other people’s teams. For example, a Project Manager may invite several team members to join their team, giving them Editor rights so that everyone in the team can add, edit, delete and develop ideas in any way.

Editors have access to work within the Doodle with minimum restriction. They can add, edit and delete ideas, chat, store images and files, and add tasks.

The only two thing an Editor is not able to do is change user roles in a Doodle they did not create. These privileges are only available for a Doodle Owner or Team Admin.

Update user roles

When you’ve decided on the role you want to assign, drag and drop the user’s name into the corresponding column.

For security and tightened control, user roles must be chosen for each Doodle.

Export your Doodle

It’s easy to export your Doodle to a variety of MS Office documents, such as Word, PowerPoint and Project.

Develop your mind map by adding notes and images to the ‘detailed view’ of each idea. Any notes or images added into the notes section of your ideas will be exported with your Doodle.

Click the ‘Export’ icon, resembling a download sign, located on the left hand side of your screen.

Screenshot shows the export icon, resembling a download sign

Click W for Word, PPT for PowerPoint or PRJ for Project and your export will automatically download to your device.

Screenshot demonstrates the option for exporting your Doodle to Microsoft Office documents such as Word, PowerPoint or Project, or as an image

Save as an image 

The final option is to save your mind map to your device as an image file in PNG format, which you can choose to email, print, publish online or any distribute in any way you like.

Firstly, ensure you are looking at your Doodle in the view you want to export, choosing between:

  • Mind map view, or
  • Tree view

Click the ‘Export’ icon, resembling a download sign, located on the left hand side of your screen.

Click PNG and your image will automatically download to your device.

Start sharing

Share your Doodle with anyone in the world, choosing the option that best suits you.

Updated on February 21, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment